Holiday Food – Good bye!

>Okay, I admit… I have very little discipline over my diet when the Holidays hit. I LOVE baking during this time of year and it has become my downfall. Fortunately, I’m not too crazy in my eating and gave most of my vices away. Despite that, I still gained back about 7 lbs.
I hate that!
I have this picture in my mind of what I want for myself, and right now I feel like I need someone to kick my butt into gear. It doesn’t help when my husband doesn’t really care about the diet as I do. I get so tired after a full day of cleaning and taking care of two kids that cooking is the last thing on my mind. What happens is we resort to the bad stuff… processed food or take out. Whats really bad is that his body can’t take that stuff anymore! He’s got blood pressure issues and not enough good cholesterol in his diet.
I’m at the point where I need to find a cookbook with a lot of easy, 20 minute or so, vegetarian meals for me to work from. Or even a lovely crockpot cookbook! I used to have a good collection of them, and out of desperation last year, I sold them to get some muchly needed cash. I’m kicking myself in the butt for it. But, at the time, we needed to do it, no thanks to this stinking economy. Hopefully I can buy them back via used book stores and such.
For now, I’m hoping the creativity inspired dishes I see on the Food Network will help me get through this time. I’ve been playing with a lot of ideas with squash, beans, and other veggies. Sweet potatoes are my favorite with caramelized sweet onions. I don’t follow any cookbooks right now, but I play with the food with the techniques I already know to do. Sauted onions are my favorite. I’ll cook them with a can of diced Italian styled tomatoes and I’m in heaven. My kids think I’m nuts that I love onions as much as I do.
And, no, I won’t eat them raw. Ew.
The only issue with cooking like this is knowing how many calories they are. I really don’t know since I’m not a whiz when it comes to the average calorie count in each ingredient to be able to figure out a rough number in a dish. Perhaps I can get a book on that while I’m searching for my cookbooks.
At least I’m somewhat pushing myself in my exercise. Just this past Monday I did 7.2 miles on the elliptical and pushed some weights. I need a trainer, I swear.. I don’t think I’m pushing myself hard enough. I go and go… the next morning, i’m not sore. I really know I did a good exercise when I can feel my muscles worked out. But, unfortunately, trainers cost money… So the only thing I can do is keep going and experiment until I find a way to push myself. Perhaps I should try getting back into rock climbing? Trust me, I’d be so thrilled if I could! The only thing stopping me is the fact I have two very young kids and a husband who is going blind… Finding time to get out there for at least 3 hours to tackle some climbing is difficult. Hopefully when my kids get older, things will get easier.
With one day left of the year tomorrow, I am hoping to toss out all the naughty foods out of this place so I can start the new year fresh. It’s going to be rough… Both my husband and I love food, and I am going to need to help my husband find the excitement I find in eating vegetarian dishes. I’ve thought about trying to cook tofu, but that makes me way too nervous. Yet, I keep reminding myself that I’ll never know if I don’t try. Perhaps next week I’ll bring that onto the menu! 😉

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

