An Empty Mind

I just read my brother’s blog and it put me to shame.
His writing skills and deep thinking just made me blush in the fact I have been so focused on every muscle in my body except the one that is most important – my brain.
Being a mother, a stay at home mom, at that, has sometimes made me so tired to even think about wanting to sit down and practice that one muscle under my cranium, but I can see I need to. Especially now that I’m finding that my little boy might have inherited the gift his uncle was born with. He’s a smart, VERY smart, little boy, and he’s picking up on things a kindergartener would in their first year of school.
I realize now, I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me to get my brain back into the shape it was back when was in college working on my degree towards Art and a minor in Chemistry.I know, you’re thinking that is such an odd combination for a degree, but  I loved Chemistry since it challenged my mind into thinking the of scenarios the science had to offer.
I had plans on using my degree into becoming a Art Restorator, but one semester before I was to graduate, the Smithsonian informed me they needed someone with an Art History major. I was engaged to be married, and I had no time to think about staying on for another year to finish another major. In hindsight, it might have been wiser to do so since I did have  financial help to keep me in school. But, I’m not going to say, “What if…” God saw the path before me and my choice to graduate with my fiancé with the plan of moving on with my life is where it has put me now – A mother of two special kids! I don’t regret that.
Yet, in light of remembering all those classes I had back in college, I’m thinking of getting myself into the teaching program to become a Chemistry teacher.Virginia has a program where I can get help in a “Career change” in  becoming a science teacher the state so sorely needs. With my background in Chemistry, why not?
I admit I am a little nervous about that, since that might land me into teaching high schoolers. Can little 5’4″ me be able to handle a bunch of ornery high schoolers? I don’t have a clue. I’ve only worked with preschoolers and some elementary aged kids, but not high schoolers. A friend suggested I try substituting first to see if thats something I can handle. I might try that, but I may need to wait another year before I can since I still have a toddler to care for, and there’s NO way I can afford child care.

With my daughter being out of school for a snow day, I better get back to being with them and make some whole wheat pizza dough for dinner tonight.
This blog is to be continued…

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

2 responses to “An Empty Mind

Leave a Reply

