Returning to my Talent

When you’re a mother to two little kids, your desires are put on the shelf as you tend to their wants and needs. Usually, when they’re in bed, resting, or busy doing what they want to do, I’m usually swamped with other chores or just too tired to do anything I want to do. I’d usually resort to just watching tv and letting my mind turn to jello. It was easy to do that. It also contributed to the constant feeling of depression I fought with for a long time.

But I’m changing all that. I started last year to lose thirty pounds. I bought Jillian Michael’s “30 Day Shred” and started doing that.  I was at my heaviest at that time – 164 pounds. Oh, believe me, I was shocked. I didn’t think I was that heavy, but with constant heartburns, and other health conditions showing up, I knew something was not right. It took a while to get my butt off the couch and do it. I wasn’t very consistent with it as I was still battling with depression. I went to the doctor and asked for some help. I didn’t want to resort to medicine, but I knew I needed some help. She prescribed me some medication, and like my exercise, it took me a while to get into the groove of taking it everyday.  By the fall, I lost my thirty pounds and was happily at 131, but as life always throws you hardballs, I went through a hard time up into Christmas and lost my drive to do anything. I gained back almost fifteen pounds, to my dismay. Recently, I’ve gotten back on the wagon and am paying more attention to how I’m treating my body. I’ve lost five pounds so far, but I know I have a ways to go to get back to where I was.

Yet, I knew I was missing something else.

I have a storage box under my bed full of canvases, pads of paper, paintbrushes, watercolor paints, and a variety of charcoal sticks stored away for whenever I could get back to them. Drawing and painting was something I loved doing for a long time, and I knew I had a talent for it.  Yesterday, I got that box out and started drawing again. My husband loves the Chinese style dragon and had wanted one for a tattoo, but I couldn’t find any pictures of a fire dragon that would look good for him online, so I decided to try my hand at drawing one.  It was a challenge, but I surprised myself at how quickly it all came back to me. It felt so good getting a picture out of my head onto paper for the first time in a long time. It was such a content feeling, and I knew I was back where I was meant to be.  Now I just need to find time to paint in the midst of minding to a kindergartener and a three year old!

I am going to get back to finishing my dragon today after I get home from working out at the gym. Going to try running my three miles today and see how I do. That will be a perfect way to spend my Friday!

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

One response to “Returning to my Talent

Leave a Reply

