One Foot

“Of course these little one-footed men couldn’t walk or run as we do. They got about by jumping, like fleas or frogs. And what jumps they made!- as if each big foot were a mass of springs. And with what a bounce they came down; That was the thumping noise which had Lucy puzzled yesterday.” – Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Chapter 11

Today, as I “hopped” around on my newly acquired crutches, I was drawn back to this scene of the Dufflepuds who were well adjusted to getting around on just one foot. I was obviously not. Yet, I know I am nothing alike to the Dufflepuds who were utterly ridiculous in their own ways as it was revealed through their mannerisms as the characters of the book met them on the island where they lived. If you haven’t read this C.S. Lewis classic, I would strongly suggest you do so, but only if you have read the other previous books in the Chronicles of Narnia.

I’m not saying I want one foot, but in having the strict doctors orders to keep the weight off my sprained ankle for a week, I learned how valuable it is to have both feet. Getting around my apartment and taking care of the daily duties as a mother and wife was extremely challenging.  I am certainly glad I don’t hop around as the Dufflepuds did. I think that would be a little more challenging than having to deal with a pair of awkward crutches. As I think about my usual chores of cleaning, I am a little overwhelmed. But I also realize this experience is teaching me yet another thing – It’s okay to ask for help.

I didn’t realize how prideful I was in how I was able to do things my way around here, (even though how many times I would grumble under my breath how I wished I wasn’t doing it, especially dishes) and felt that if I was to get any help, it was best to just let someone offer it. “Afterall, why should I ask? They would know better to see that I need help and volunteer to help!” Does that sound familiar? I KNOW I’m not the only one who would think that at least once! You know who that makes me think of? MARTHA in the Bible!  She grumbled that her sister sat at Jesus’ feet to listen to Him while she labored in the kitchen. She felt unjustified in the fact that Mary didn’t come and help her with the tedious job of preparing the meal for their guests. I could go on and say that it was way too obvious I need help with two conspicuous crutches protruding from under my arms holding me up and anyone would know I needed help in a lot of things.

Yet, I had to remind myself one thing before falling into the bitter attitude like Martha, “They’re not mind-readers.”  So, yes, I had to swallow my pride and ask for help from the kids or my husband. Was it painful? No. Physically, maybe. I was so sore by this evening from depending on the crutches to be an extension of my arms to bear the full weight of myself off my injured foot.  Yet, I am hopeful I will be able to get my daily chores done despite not being able to do it myself. It won’t be easy, and I know I will get frustrated. It’s going to be a long challenging week as I let my ankle heal.

Already, I’m finding myself having to deal with the frustrations of not being able to get things as tidy as quickly and as easily as I could had I been fully functioning. Giving directions to my kids and husband is equally challenging, as I have been the one to do everything around here all the time. Adding onto that challenge is understanding that my husband also can’t see as well as the average person can. Just finding a phone book in the cabinet for me was a tough one when it was dim inside it and the book was buried under cans I had quickly stashed in there. I admit I didn’t think of that when it happened. I was pretty agitated when neither my daughter or my husband couldn’t’ find it when I knew it was there. Sparks did fly, but when my frustrations calmed down, I was able to remember that we were both dealing with limitations equally frustrating.  Along with letting go of my pride, there is going to be a good dose of patience needed during this week. Perhaps it should always be that way.

It is getting late, and I am starting to find the need to retire after such a fun night at a spontaneous TobyMac concert tonight…. I mean, last night.  A friend of mine came across some tickets due the fact that a newly met friend had a pair who couldn’t go since they were sick, so I was asked to join them. I took the opportunity and was blessed by it.  Sure, getting around on crutches is a challenge, but to miss the chance at a concert with TobyMac, I won’t dare! 😉 Hopefully I can see him again at the Awakening Festival this fall… If it all works out that I can go.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

2 responses to “One Foot

  • Kathryn Leigh

    I got really excited when I read this post. Okay, so you definitely don’t know me, but I clicked over from Thoughts of a Runner and got a little giddy about the quote from VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER. I know I should have read it as a kid, but I somehow missed out and am reading it now. And I have to say that I haven’t been enjoying it as much as I’ve wanted to… until I saw your post. I don’t know why, but it made me smile.

    I’m sorry to hear about your leg. I have trouble asking for help too. 🙂

    • coffeenut79

      Like I love to say, “Better late than never.” C.S. Lewis is one of my favorite authors, right along side with J.R.R. Tolkien. I hope you can enjoy it better now that you think of how parallel those wonderfully written books are to our everyday daily lives.
      Thanks… having an injury like this sprained ankle has made me more appreciative of walking and being independent. I think my three year old son will be glad when I’m able to function without my crutches. He’s been wanting me to carry him for the past few days and isn’t too happy that I can’t. LOL
      It was nice “meeting” you!

Leave a Reply

