Back in the Saddle

Last Tuesday my doctor declared my ankle sound enough to get back into exercising, but I could see in his instructions that he wanted me to ease myself back into the running I’m so anxious to do.

“Wear your brace when you exercise for a while, but if it doesn’t hurt, go ahead and take it off and try without it. If it doesn’t hurt, then you’re good. Use the stationary bike or the elliptical first and then go for the treadmill. ”

I got on the elliptical that night with my brace and found it didn’t hurt, so I took it off. I was able to go for about 45 minutes at a slower-than-normal pace. I forced myself to go slower. The last thing I wanted to happen was to flare up and cripple me again. Eventually, I was forced to go slower as I found myself out of shape going at the forced speed of 4.5 on the elliptical. I normally could keep up at a 5.o on there, but as the time wear on, I found myself getting tired and winded at the 4.5 speed. Six weeks definitely took a lot out of my body!

Since then I had been walking and breaking in my new running shoes I was so lucky to find on sale.  I was also able to break in my new ipod today at the gym. It was also the first time back since I hurt myself. I kept myself at a steady power walk of 3.2 t0 3.5 with various inclines as I went. It was a good workout, but it wasn’t my usual intensity. I kept reminding myself the doctor wanted me to ease myself back into it, and I didn’t want to have to go back to him sheepishly with another injury to explain that I had jumped the gun too fast. I know it can happen since it did with my knee in December and January.

Getting back into shape exercise wise is not the only thing I’m beating back into shape. I’ve fallen off the wagon with my diet since getting hurt, and a lot of it is due to boredom and frustration. I must admit that I am emotional eater when I fall into those moments. Pain is also another trigger for me, and lately I have been dealing with a LOT of pain.Soon after I was diagnosed with the tendinitis, I started getting constant tension headaches and back pain right on top of dealing with the pain in my ankle. Yes, I was a mess. I still am, minus the ankle.  Fortunately, I’ve come to find that when I exercise, it takes some of the pain away. That’s a good thing, right? I’m working on getting all that under control so I don’t start messing up my diet as I’m working on getting back into the calorie range I need to be in.

To dust the saddle off even more, my husband and I are endeavoring to complete a Power 90 challenge for the next 3 months with a team of friends, starting Monday. Am I nervous? Yeah.  But I know once I get the DVD, I’m going to watch it through to prepare myself for what I’m going to do so I don’t hurt myself trying to do all the exercises. I’m also excited to see what the results are going to be by the time I’m done with it. I’m also curious to see how my husband does in his part.  I know I’ll be sharing as we go along. 🙂

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

