The World is Noisy

Earthquake/Tsunami in Japan, political unrest in Libya, Egypt’s government shift, Economical unrest, gas prices climbing, government shut down…

The noise goes on. Wish I could just turn off my hearing aids and let the physical silence echo into the noise of the world around me. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way. It’s even noisy visually with the news flashing on TV, the Internet, and in newspapers.

My husband works in Washington, DC, in the middle of the noise of the political mess of their inability to decide on the budget, yet, by the grace of God, he doesn’t work for the government.

Why do I say that?

He applied ample of times to many different government jobs, only to be turned down. Many times he didn’t understand why, but the other day he came to me and said he was thankful that he didn’t get a job with them. “God knew the government job wouldn’t be good for us, as if I did, I would be unable to work next week, if this shut down happens.” He even mentioned to me that when he thinks of Jesus, he’s at peace no matter what would happen. Not many jobs are secure in this economy, and to hear him say that, it echoed a  very familiar theme.

“Be Still and Know He is God.”

Steven Curtis Chapman’s rendering of “Be Still” is a constant song that plays in my mind as I go through life. It is a reminder to me to not worry too much about things around me. I have to not let the noise distract me from the truth of it all. KNOW He is God.

I don’t profess to be a scholar, but life and the Bible has taught me a lot about Him…

You ask, “What do you mean by KNOW?” I can return with another question – “Who is God?”

“Your love, O Lord, reaches to the heavens,

your faithfulness to the skies.

Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains,

your justice like the great deep.

Oh, Lord, you preserve both man and beast.”  Psalms 36: 5, 6

The Heavens and skies are unlimited, so is God’s love and faithfulness. His justice is deeper than we could understand, so in that, I know His justice will prevail. As to his preservation, we see it time and time again in the Bible. Adam and Eve, though they were thrown from the Garden of Eden, did not starve. They became the first parents with many children. Time and time again, God provided food and water for the Hebrews as they traveled begrudgingly through the dessert.  God’s chosen people continued to return and stray many times through out history, but it always came to be through God’s provision, they were delivered. The biggest act of preservation came through the gift of His son on the cross.

You can also see another feature of God in these acts of love – Patience. He put up with a lot of our crap, and yet, He still continued to love us and pursue us.  He constantly promises His provision time and time again in the Bible. It is almost as if he is telling us to just “Chill out!”  Jesus couldn’t have put it plainer as he taught about not worrying (Matthew 6:25-34, Luke 12:22-34).  “… And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan would runs after all such things, and your Father knows you needs them. But seek his kingdom, and those will be given to you as well.” Luke 12:29,30 The simple thing of food and drink He asks us not to worry about. How much more do you think we need to not worry about?

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.” Psalm 55:22

That is a part of who God is. I could go on with all that I’ve learned about Him, but we can save that for another blog.

He is definitely bigger than all the noise out there. With all the promises in black and white (and sometimes red), it is like a pair of earplugs to help us lower the noise that surrounds us.

As we do that, we can use our hands and body language, like a deaf person, to share the peace and comfort God gave us to others.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

