On my Journey

A friend of mine said that my aim to becoming healthy isn’t a goal but a journey.

How true is that.  I was once at a fairly comfortable weight and getting close to my goal when I lost focus and gained quite a bit back. I was very angry at myself for letting go when I was struggling with so many things at the same time. I now have to fight and get back to where I was. It’s not easy this time around, I will admit. I’ve had tendonitis, runner’s knee, tonsillitis, and several other health issues pop up in the past several months that have put me on hold in getting back to where I once was.

But I know I have a goal in my mind of what I want out of life… And what I want to do. I will – I repeat, I  WILL – run a 5k one of these days… Hopefully before the year is over.  I also want to break this hold of this sweet tooth I’ve developed in the past 6 months of dealing with some of the challenges I’ve had lately. That was not a good habit to develop – but, thanks to the same friend who told me of the journey, he gave me a tool to help me – A yummy shake mix called Shakeology. Hopefully, once I start drinking it regularly, I’ll see some of the changes he professes to happen to those who drink it.  He’s trying to see if I can become a coach… We’ll see about that. lol

Call me crazy, but I want to get back into rock climbing. I fell in love with it when I was in Minnesota working for a camp up there. A dear sweet soul I met there introduced me to it and I was hooked. Sure, I have a healthy fear of heights, but once I get that gear on, I’m ready for the challenge. In college, I took a outdoor adventure class which involved rock climbing and canoing. The latter was not my favorite, as I did not have a favorable canoing partner. When we got to rock climbing, we did the serious stuff – Right along a cliff side by a river in Maryland. I remember the day very well as some of us girls (and guys) were afraid of coming across a spider or a creepy bug on the way up. That was one of my biggest fears as spiders are not something I care to come across ever. I watched one friend make his way up to the top, then it was my turn. I started to go, and I found myself enjoying the challenge of planning my steps as I went up. Bugs or spiders were the last thing on my mind… I’m sure I came across a few bugs, but I don’t remember them. All I remember was working my way up and the joy and exhilaration I felt as I pulled myself up to the top. Looking down was a little dizzying as I saw how far I came up (as well as spying a huge black river snake making its way down in the currant), but I will always look back and know that was one of my high points in life.  I do hope I can feel that again soon.

Those three things are the major goals I have as far as my health is concerned.  I know that as I work towards changing my life to be able to do them, I’ll reach some of the littler goals such as my weight goal and the toning I’m wanting out of it.  I know I’m going to have to keep myself focused and not let the little hold ups discourage me.  It’s going to have to take a lot of discipline to change some of the habits I’ve developed lately.  But I know I can do it.  I’ll write it on my arm or something to remind myself everyday I can!

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

One response to “On my Journey

  • Teresa Hanson

    Good luck on your journey!!! I’m really certain that once you start drinking Shakeology regularly you will start seeing a different and it will really help. Hang in there, i know you will get there.

Leave a Reply

