Not Afraid

The hot topic lately is all about May 21st – which is now, as it is 12:02 am on this very day.

One man took a stand and said that it was this very date Jesus would come back and it would be the end of the world.

“Say what?!” I stood flabbergasted as I heard about it on a cold day in March. I knew that this had to be probably the most ridiculous thing I had ever heard. So many times have I seen people try to predict the foreboding day we would face judgment, but they totally forget a key element that we all Christians know to be true:

“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. For in the days before the flood, people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day Noah entered the ark; and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. that is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.”  Matthew 24:36-39

We don’t have a date to put in our calendar books as to when to expect Him, but a small fraction of people have come to believe that today would be the day Christ would return and the beginning of the end would ensue. I’m not denying that we’re getting close to it, but I’m not going to believe something that has not been predicted by a man who has predicted this before. I can go into the aisle of a grocery store and look at the tabloids to see someone else making predictions of when doomsday is supposed to happen. It’s been going on like this for a long time.

Am I nervous about it? No, not in the fact of Christ coming back. I’m ready for Him.  I’m nervous about what PEOPLE are going to do if nothing happens as the day goes by.  We’re fickle creatures… If things don’t go the way we expect them to, there’s no telling which direction we’ll go in our decisions.

I watched “The Sign” last night and when it was done, I realized how many “doomsday” movies are out there. We’re all fascinated with death and the End, but we forget that God made us to live in the moment. We can’t predict the future, unless God gives us the gift of prophecy, and we can’t live in the past and change it.  No, we need to live in the moment, and LIVE IT FOR GOD! It is there we don’t have to live in fear and anxiety of when Christ will come back. Jesus says time and time again to his followers to be “Watching.” We have to be ready, but we don’t have to live in fear of it.

I remember a friend of mine telling me about Martin Luther King Jr. in his response to the question of Christ’s return. Someone asked him, “If you knew Christ was coming tomorrow, what would you do?” Martin responded without hesitation that he would be planting a tree with his son. He said that as to say that he will not stop his life because of Christ’s return, but instead live until He does. I plan on doing the same.  I’ve got plans tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to it.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

