It’s Only Temporary

Here I am writing again…

My last post was probably the best I ever wrote in a long time. It helped me to accept that, yes, I have a challenge in being married to a man who has his own challenges. He’s not the only one who has had to deal with this hurdle. As I came to find out about my husband’s Retina Pigmatosa, I came to find out that two of my other friends have it as well.

“It is a rare condition… ”  said the doctor.  Rare?!  What planet is he from?! Me, ONE person, knows of THREE people with the same condition. And moreover, there are different types!!! I joined a facebook group my husband introduced me to and read of so many other people who have to deal with RP; either themselves, their children, or their spouses. It is a bittersweet thing to find that this “rare” condition is more common than the doctor thinks. At least, I know I’m not alone. The sad part is watching my husband knowing he will one day not be able to see my face or my children’s faces.

But the sadness is short lived.

While we have time, I know its right to start building memories. We may not be able to travel all over the world for him to physically see the sights, but at least, we can travel around our own little country, doing fun things with our growing children. There will be birthdays, milestones, and other great times we can do while there is time.

Our daughter graduates Kindergarten, our son has a summer birthday coming up, and I know in just a year and a half, we will be celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary.  There will be little fun things in between, I know we will be able to do in creating wonderful moments we can all play in our mind’s eye when time passes. I also want to see my kids cherish these moments with their dad. They can grow and learn how to be around him as their dad learns how to function with them as well.  It’s an adventure!

I do believe that, as time goes by, I will continue to write more about the adventures we have as a family.  My two hearing children have two interesting parents! A father who is hard of hearing/deaf and legally blind, and a mother who is deaf/hard of hearing and blind in one eye. (For inquiring minds –  the reason I put the “hard of hearing/deaf” different between the two of us, is because my husband can hear better than I can, even though he does depend on hearing aids to help him hear and function in the hearing world)

I hope you will continue to enjoy my posts!

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

