The Body is Broken

This year has been one for a lot of health/physical challenges in my goals to getting into shape and running.

I’ve just got my knees taken care of, and my tendinitis in my ankle figured out, and NOW the doctor tells me the pain in my left foot is Morton’s Neuroma. I was flabbergasted to hear I had this problem. I can’t wear my lovely wedges, high heels, and all those cute shoes with this condition. On top of that, some doctors are discouraging running as it would make it worse.   YOU CAN’T TELL ME THAT!!!! I had just discovered my love for running and this happens.

“God, are you trying to tell me something?

I feel like Juliet when she discovers her love is a rival to her family. Running is my Romeo. The feud lies with the family of my body versus challenging it to go and do something extraordinary. Needless to say, I’m more than just peeved.  I’ve thought a lot about what I should do about it. Give up running? I know I’ll be miserable. The challenge and the exhilaration it gives me is so addicting!  When I did my three miles in 35 minutes last week, I was ecstatic.   I wanted to do it again!!

I can just see those doctors crossing their arms and wagging their heads at me.

I think I will be rebellious.

After all, life is too short to give up.

In fact I’ve decided to do a Mud run in November, and I’m going to need to do a lot of training to get myself ready for this 3 mile run through muddy challenges along the way. I’ve joined a team of people who are eagerly ready for this challenge as I am. It’s going to be a blast playing in the mud and running my butt off.

Yet, I know this is the only body I have. I am looking at options in treating it, other than giving up my activities. The lists include steroid shots, other pain relieving shots, and/or surgery. One other that caught my eye was acupuncture. It doesn’t cure it, but it does help elevate the pain and  make it easier for me to run when I want to. I am considering that option as it would be less invasive and less chemicals in my system. Drugs always have side effects, and I don’t want to have to deal with that issue.

I think God would appreciate what I’m doing, wouldn’t you think? I don’t think he wants me to give up, but he reminds me of one vital thing; the body does break. It is not infallible. I’m not immortal. I have to make the choice on how I deal with this flawed body I have. He did put the love of running in me, so I know there’s a reason for it all. I just know I’ll need to make sure I run with the knowledge that I do have a broken body that needs caring.

“God, I hear you…. Again. “

It’s nice to know that God cares enough to allow us to have these experiences so we can learn how to use the up-most of our abilities for his glory.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

