I Did it!

This may sound a little mundane, but I’m actually excited about this… 

I can bend over and touch my toes comfortably now!

Now, you have to understand my history to know why I’m so excited about this. 

I’ll take you back to when I was around 10 years old or so, and I was so excited about a Synchronized Swimming camp my mom had signed me up for. A friend of the family was a coach and told my mom about it and thought I could give it a try, despite being the only deaf person there. So I did. 

I LOVED IT. Until some woman ruined it for me. 

The sport requires a lot of flexibility, and, sadly, I didn’t inherit that gift. I loved to dance, but I had bad feet (can’t point my toes right), couldn’t do splits, and COULD NOT touch my toes! 

As I tried to stretch and practice some of the flexible moves some of the other girls were doing just fine, a coach came over to help me and gave me this look of hopelessness for my case. “You are one tight girl!” 

I was crushed. My dreams of dancing in the water were thrown down the drain. 

I did finish the camp with a performance with my friend/coach that summer, and I had so much fun despite the cloud lingering over my head of my own inability to be flexible.

I never went back. 

I went on through the rest of my youth being the inactive, forever labeling myself the non-athlete. “I’m not meant to be an athlete.” I would tell myself. 

But, my heart warred with my head for a LONG time. 

I tried running in college, and then my knees began to hurt. A lot. I gave up again. 

“I’m just not meant to be an athlete!” I would almost literally yell at myself, hoping for once, my heart would finally accept it. 

Oh no… It refused to let it go. 

I still dreamed of dancing while I listened to music. I’d dream of running a long distance. To do something THAT incredible, was something I felt I could dream of, but never achieve. Watching Biggest Loser kind of gave me some inspiration, but I never went after it. But at the age of 28, after the birth of my son, I realized my body was suffering badly from the lack of activity. 

The scale screamed at me… I was at my heaviest. I knew then I had to do something. My head reasoned with my heart, ‘I may not be an athlete, but I got to start somewhere.” After six months of working out with Jillian Michaels, running on the treadmill, walking, and various exercises, my body began to change. I lost the weight I had gained and got down to a healthy weight, and I then noticed something… I was a little more flexible than I used to be. I still couldn’t touch my toes, but I was closer to my feet than I used to be. 

I’m 33 now, and I’ve had quite a lot of ups and downs in the years of figuring out this “not so young” body with a completely different metabolism than I used to have. I don’t have it down to an art, but I’m almost there, but I have to say I am becoming an athlete and found a love of running. With the help of my doctor I was able to find a way to strengthen my runner’s knees. I developed tendinitis in my ankles, and now I’m working on that. 

Being a Beachbody coach has helped me a lot this year, as I’ve been drinking shakeology and using some of their exercises DVDs, and last night, I happened to be doing a new favorite – “Hip Hop Abs” and I discovered my new found flexibility. (Yes, this white chick loves to dance hip hop!).  I was doing cool down and was stretching towards my toes and found myself able to wrap my hands around my feet easily. It felt so good!!!  I felt like going back 23 years back to that very woman and say, “IN YOUR FACE!”.  It’s probably a good thing God doesn’t allow us to travel back into time. The past belongs back there, and now I can face the future knowing that 

I CAN CHANGE THIS BODY!

As for my feet, I don’t know if I can ever change the way they are, but I’m pretty happy with the fact that I’ve gotten some flexibility in my life. 

As for dancing… I’ll dance like no one is watching. 😉 

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

One response to “I Did it!

Leave a Reply

