Northern Virginia Voting Survival Guide

Tonight I have endured a two hour wait to just push on the screen my vote for this election day. With two kids and a blind husband, I was not prepared for such a challenging wait.

I decided I ought to write up what I think we should do to prepare for another bout of a long wait to vote:

Shoes – Make sure they’re comfortable. Flats with support soles are the best. If you can get away with some slippers; Do it.

Clothes – Layers! Make sure you’re prepared for the cold November weather if you’re waiting outside, but once you get inside a building full of people, you can be sure it’s going to be warm. Layers would be able to help with dealing with both different temperature environments.

Kids –  If you have kids with you; make sure you have some form of entertainment for them that is mobile. Examples: ipod with games and/or music, a book, or let them use your phone to play games. NOTE: Make sure your phone is fully charged when entering this situation.

Bordom Busters – Adults get bored waiting in line too, right? Get a book, a fully charged ipod for music, or  use your phone, fully charged, to call friends, play games, or just do whatever you can with your phone.

Food – If you, your kids, or anyone with you on this venture of voting, becomes hungry or thirsty, it would be wise to have some snacks and water packed to prepare for this situation. There are chances that your wait time will cause you to feel hungry or thirsty, and children tend to feel this way faster than adults do. Being prepared will prevent yourself any extra headaches as you wait as patiently as you can to turn your vote in. Water is the best for quenching your thirst since it will not make you more thirsty as sweetened drinks can. If you can’t carry water with you, be sure to locate the closest water fountain as you wait in line.

Physical Challenges –  If you are with someone, or yourself, who has some physical challenges, i.e. blindness, deafness, make sure that you are given some help to compensate with the challenge. As I had my husband, it was a challenge to make sure he knew which direction the line went. I admit there were times I forgot he didn’t know the line moved up some. Putting his hand on my shoulder helped, and I made sure he knew what was going on. He, in turn, told me if I missed anything with my deafness. It helps when we can help each other in our weaknesses.

One critical piece of survival – Don’t go by yourself!!!  Having a friend or family member can be best to help you when you need to relieve yourselves as you wait, as they can hold your place in line. Don’t expect the person in the line next to you to be entirely honest, sadly. Another factor in having another person with you is to keep you sane as you hear the babbling of political jibber-jabbering as you wait. I think the commercials we see on TV is enough to drive one nuts.

May this prevent headaches for future voters… Especially in this area, or any other that has a heavy weight in turning the course in the voting process for a candidate, either it be a future President, or a local one.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

