My Christmas

I have had a crazy weekend with the worst case of a stomach virus I have ever had in my life, and to top it off, my husband and daughter caught it as well. We were all miserable. My son was lucky enough to be immune to it, thanks to antibiotics for an ear infection. That’s my theory, at least. Yet, in the middle of groaning and whimpering of the virus’s effects on my body, I got to do some thinking about my life and where I am now, especially when it comes to Christmas.

I will admit, I’ve been a little spoiled growing up with Christmas. My parents, along with my vast family, always made Chrstmas such a huge thing with presents and gathering together. Now that I have my own little family, it has been tough not being able to do either for my two children. My biological family are all out west while I’m on the east coast, and my husband’s family is quite broken after the sudden passing of his mother a few years ago. We can’t really spoil our children with awesome presents with our meager means these days.

But wait a minute… Whats up with the idea of awesome presents?!  I blame it on TV and all the advertisements around us. Buy this! Buy that! This will make an awesome present!

As I was working on getting myself better for the past couple of days, I got to thinking about what Christmas could mean to us instead of opening up a bunch of presents. Sure, we all love getting presents, and I know I still want to bless my two somehow with something to open; but I think we need to rethink how to celebrate the season. We, as in my family, but you’re welcome to join me if you would like.

To be honest, I’m not sure how I’m going to do it with extremely busy schedule as a working mom these days, but I’m going to try.

One of the lessons I want to try to instill in my children of the value of giving instead of getting, as well as what we give. It doesn’t have to be something we buy from a store. Both my children have inherited their mother’s artistic ability (I’m beaming proudly here), and I know we can make things for our loved ones they will appreciate more than something that is bought from a store somewhere. I will try to find some fun crafts that are not cluttery kind of things for a home, but useful ones.  The reason I say that is I’m in the middle of de-cluttering my home, and I don’t want to be one to give things that will clutter another persons home instead. Does that make sense? 

This year, I want to try and do somethings that are blind friendly so our husband can join us in our celebration. We could do readings from Christmas themed books. My favorite, being Max Lucado’s Crippled Lamb, is definitely one on the list.

Last, but not least, I want the kids to completely understand that we’re celebrating the birth of Christ. Sure, a lot of people can argue that it’s not acurately the right date, and they’re probably right. Am I going to be legalistic about it? No. We don’t know his exact birthdate, so I say this is better than nothing!

We may not have much from the world’s point of view and we’re struggling to get by. Hopefully things will work out better as my husband tries to go back to work, despite his blindness. In the meantime, we can still have a wonderful and blessed Christmas.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

