Blindness isn’t Stopping Him

This morning, as I am staying home to take care of my feverish son and asthmatic daughter, I am taking advantage of the time to write. I’ve got quite a few blogs in my head that I want to share.

Today is my husband’s second day back to work, and I am thankful that he has a job where they’re willing to work with him despite his degenerative vision loss. It is amazing to see all the new technologies out there that gives him the ability to work, and he’s taking advantage of them.

It would be easy for him to just give up and just say there’s no way he can work with his vision loss, but after a couple of months of not working, he has realized the value of having a job. He also has realized how hard it was to function at home. It’s not impossible, but it was definitely not what he was comfortable to do. Plus, we weren’t making ends meet with the small amount of the disability benefits from his job on top of my meager pay from the day care center as a sub teacher. I also have to be mom and a wife, so there are days where I can’t go to work as it is dependant for me to take care of the kids and the home.

Yesterday we both got up early and I made us some shakes to drink for our breakfast. We’ve decided with us both working, we are going to take much better care of ourselves with what we eat. With a new addition to our kitchen, the Nutribullet, we’ve made our veggie/fruit concoctions for breakfast for the past couple of days. They’re really surprisingly delicous!

He left for work first, and I got the rest of us ready for the day. We piled into the car and drove up to the bus stop, and as soon as they got on the bus, I left to go to work.

When I came home to take my break, it was quiet, minus a couple of meowing cats wanting my attention. I took advantage of the time to prep up the crockpot for some chili and clean up a little bit before the kids came home. Once they did, I had them get a snack and get them ready to go back to work with me.

It wasn’t long before the day was practically over and time for me to head home with the kids. Once we did, I had gotten a text from him saying he was stuck on the highway… From his blind friendly phone. He can talk into it, and it types the words out for him. Granted, it isn’t perfect, as some of the words didn’t exactly make sense with the autocorrect feature. I have to play detective sometimes to figure out what he’s trying to tell me. It doesn’t take much to do that, though.

As wonderful as it is for him to be returning to work, I know that I need to prepare myself for when the time comes for when he’s completely blind. I’m not quite sure what I will be doing, but hopefully by then I will have a job that will help us get through any time when Paul cannot work anymore… or when he’s in the middle of transitioning to a different job; one that is blind friendy.

He’s told me that his day was really good as his first. They gave him time to get himself acculimated back into his role there. I didn’t hear from him until it was time for him to come home, and it was very encouraging to hear how good it was, and that they’re resepcting Paul’s needs as they are.

Today is his second day, and he has gotten into a rythm of how the mornings go. With the kids being sick, I’m not going to be able to go to work for the next two days. When one has a fever, they don’t let you come back to school until you’ve had one full day without a fever. I hope his fever isn’t a long lasting one, since the money would come in handy.

We are in the middle of discussing our housing situation, and we are hoping to find a house that we can afford. I will be taking Paul to the bus stop if we find a house that isn’t near one. I am hoping we find one soon.

With his blindness, it hasn’t been easy , but we’ve had a lot ofwonderful blessings We just pray his job place will continue to work with this when he losses off ofhis sight.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

