A Blind Man Christmas Shopping

My husband and I braved shopping the mall this past Sunday, when everyone, including us, was doing their last minute shopping. I had my son with me, and my husband wanted to try doing some shopping on his own. I had my doubts, but I wanted to give him the chance to try. I led him to the door of Target and told him I would go down through the mall with my son to find some things for my daughter. He nodded and proudly made his way into the store swinging his cane back and forth. I had my cell phone with me, so I knew if needed to, he would call me.

I got my coffee; a must when braving the masses of people with a five year old and a blind husband to think about. My son jibber jabbers nonsense to me – half I could gather with the sounds of the crowd cramming into my hearing aids as well. I tell him he needs to sign since I can’t hear him very well. He tries and gets flustered very easily, so he tries talking to me again, in hopes I can read his lips. We make our way into Claires to find some cute earrings for my lady like daughter, and as I gather up a couple of pair, my phone rings.

It’s my husband.

“Hi! Is everything okay?”

“Um… I’m having a really hard time seeing around in here and finding what I think would be good for the kids.”

“Would it help if I come over and show you?”

“But our son will see them!”

I ponder over this dilemma. We couldn’t take him to a friend’s house as he was just getting over Strep. We were stuck.

In a defeated voice, he offers, “Why don’t we just let our kids pick out something and then we do it that way? Christmas isn’t too far away and they do have some gifts to open.”

Being the traditionalist for Christmas, I hated the idea, but I couldn’t see any way around it. So I bring my son to the store. Luckily my daughter would have to open hers on Christmas day. I knew what she would like, so that made it pretty easy.

My husband had me pick out something, too. I got my early Christmas present, and even though I would have loved unwrapping it on Christmas day, I realize that this is going to be what is expected when dealing with a husband who can’t see.

Although, next time I am not having us shop the Sunday before Christmas. The crowds was definitely not blind-friendly! I was constantly telling him to vear right or left to avoid running into masses of people. At some point, I just grabbed his hand and had him hold on to me. The cane is a wonderful asset, but when you’re dealing with a huge crowd of people, it’s better to depend on another set of eyes to guide you. I felt much better knowing he was behind me and leading him around the procrastinators.

 

 

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

