The Spirit of Generosity in Friends

In this day and age, I am sad to say that there isn’t a whole lot of generosity out there. Oh, I’m sure people donate to charities, but there’s always a catch. It’s tax deductible or a shower of praise from the public when you do.

I’ve been touched by the kind of generosity that needs to be seen more of.

This and last Christmas, we came across some very hard times. I had thought since I had been blessed so much last year that it wouldn’t happen again this year. I was willing to accept it and enjoy a very humble and sweet Christmas with my little family, but things didn’t go that way.

Just when I thought things were just going to be extremely small, we’ve found an abundance. Friends came and showered us more than they should have, in my opinion, with blessings. I have a turkey for us to eat on Christmas day! Our tree has a healthy amount of gifts under it for the kids to enjoy and unravel. Even my husband and I were blessed to be able to get the kids a few little things as well. Some of the gifts, we don’t know who they are from. Some are from wonderful friends who have taken us in as family. Some are from a dear friends who surprised us with an amazing amount of generosity in their gifts.

I cried sadly that my family was so far away and Christmas didn’t feel the same without them nearby. It hadn’t been Christmas for me since my mother-in-law passed. She always had a way of making Christmas something special. Cookies, delicous food, and special gifts were her way of bringing the family together. It helped me with my own family being so far away, and now with her gone, I have to learn to make Christmas my own. God is showing me something else.

This circle of caring friends are my family. I can make my Christmas with them. How? I’m still figuring that out. Right now, my means are small. My home is small. My heart, however, is big. I just have to find a way to share it with them and show them how much I appreciate them.

For once, again, Christmas is full of surprises. I do hope that one day, I will be able to pay it forward and give another family the joy of blessings at their doorstep. I would love to be able to show someone else what I learned. Family can be found in friends. Friends can show love and generosity without asking for anything in return. May God bless my blessers three times over.

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

