Thanksgiving 2013

This year’s Thanksgiving is like most Thanksgivings we’ve had the past several years – Spent with friends who have taken us in to be a part of their celebrations. A good friend who has been a rock in my life has invited us over for a fun two-family Thanksgiving celebration. We sat down and poured over several Rachel Ray magazines, which made me miss reading that magazine in the comfort of my own home, this past week. We looked over different ideas, and came down to some good choices for all of us to enjoy and experience. (Note to self: get a subscription this year!)

I love cooking, and working full time has made it harder to do so. I did make a great acorn squash roast with tri colored pasta for dinner tonight, but what I really like cooking is things like risotto, fish, ethnic dishes, and a good mean chicken curry with chickpeas and rice. 

Okay, I’m getting off point here. 

We split up the menu courses between us, and it was decided that I was in charge of deserts and the appetizers for the day. I also plan to bring the traditional apple cider to heat in the crockpot for everyone to drink as we wait for the turkey to be done. We found an orange cranberry style turkey with a gravy using the cranberries and oranges. We’re very excited about trying that! There’s going to be the common favorites : Green bean casserole and possibly mashed potatoes. 

The kids will be together watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, and I know I won’t want to miss seeing Santa’s debut at the end. I am still a kid at heart, and that’s never going to change. The guys will have their beers for the afternoon, so their morning will be all about talking and whatever they please. I know there will be a cup (or two) of coffee for me. My dear friend will have one, I’m sure, but she’s not one to drink more than that. Chex mix and some other finger foods is what I’m planning on bringing for us to munch on as we wait for the grand meal of all. I haven’t quite decided if I want to make some of the appetizers or just stick with the commercialized favorites – Chex mix and crackers. I will be browsing Pinterest and the Food Network recipes for ideas in the next couple of days. 

But what I’m really excited about making is my favorite creation I have made my own : Pumpkin Cheesecake! This year I am thinking of going completely from scratch! Tomorrow night I plan on roasting a sugar pumpkin to puree for it. It’s not a big one, but it will be enough for what I need for one cheesecake.  I use a very simple Allrecipe.com recipe with my own twist. Instead of the traditional graham cracker crust, I use ginger cookies very finely ground up. This year, I am going to add in a new desert that caught my eye on Facebook. A friend posted this delicious looking Paleo Pumpkin Carrot cake I just knew I needed to make. I know… One desert is completely wicked and the other is so angelic to our health. I just think this way, there can be a choice option available for those who might want to gorge themselves on a healthier version of a sweet tooth appeaser. Okay.. “Gorge” is a bit too much, but you know what I mean, right?  I will make all of this on Wednesday night, of course, as the cheesecake has to chill. The cake will be just fine as well as I will add the paleo frosting to it in the morning at my friend’s house.

There will be football games to watch… Well, as I’ve seen who is playing, I’m not sure who I will root for. I love my Chicago Bears, even though I am sad at their miserable loss to the Rams this past Sunday. I am hoping they get better and make us Bear fans proud soon!  Green Bay vs. Lions, Raiders vs. Cowboys, and Steelers vs. Ravens are playing on Thanksgiving day. As for me, I won’t root for Green Bay or the Cowboys!  As for the Steelers or the Ravens, I’m not quite sure, even though my boss is an avid Ravens fan and I hope she gets to see a win for her team. I might just spend my time talking to my friend, calling my folks, and having some good fellowship in the spirit of Thanksgiving. 

I am thankful I do have friends who can count us in to be a part of their lives. It makes being so far away from family easier. I hope my readers have an awesome Thanksgiving as well! 

 

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

Leave a Reply

