Topsy Turvy

I’m sitting here drinking my shake and shaking my head at what had transpired in the past four hours.

A lot can happen in four hours.

My morning was a quiet one. I had a dentist appointment, and my teeth are feeling very happy with a nice cleaning I had just gotten. I went home with a mission to tackle a laundry load of things to do– Including Laundry.

I live on the third floor of our apartment, and I have to do my laundry in a building on the ground level. So I hauled a bag of my daughter’s clothes onto my back and carried the soap and keys in my free hand. The bag was heavy, so I knew I was getting a workout just by walking down the stairs with all that I was carrying. I was able to get two loads in the amount of clothes my daughter had, and I went back upstairs to tackle the kitchen.

One of the chores of the kitchen is to take the recyclables out to the recycling bin. I hauled my big bin of plastics and glass bottles down the stairs with my keys and another bag of bottles in my hand. I dump all of it out of my bin into the large bin and threw the bag in as well.

When I started walking back, I got that nagging feeling that I was missing something. I looked down in my hands and realized that I was just carrying my recycling bin. I began to question myself if I had my keys with me or not. I walked back up to my third floor apartment and looked around to find that my keys were no where around. I walked back down to the bin, which I should mention is clear across the apartment parking lot, and tried to look in to find my keys. I couldn’t see them, but I had this strong feeling they were in there. I walked back thinking of how I could move things around at the bottom of the huge bin that was 4 feet deep, and I had no intention of climbing in. I remembered that my son had a couple of sticks he had saved to make some hiking staffs with.

I quickly climbed up and grabbed the sticks, and I quickly walked back across the parking lot to the recycling bin. I lifted the yellow lid, which was pretty heavy, and began moving bottles and bags away from the bottom, and when I did, I saw my lanyard with my keys laying there.

As I began trying to fish them out with the stick in my hand, I heard a telltale sound of a diesel engine rumbling right near me. I glanced up to see the garbage truck driving by and slowly situating itself to pick up the very bin I was fishing in! I wiggled my stick a little in hopes of making the lanyard move into an opportune loop for me to slide the stick into. It worked! I was able to pull my keys out quickly, and as I did, I let the bright yellow lid slam down onto the blue metal bin. I even threw the sticks into the wooded area. There was no way I was going to let my son use with some sticks I had used in the garbage bin! I see the driver of the truck give me a questionable facial expression and a tentative thumbs up.  I gave him a hearty thumbs up and a relieved nod. The bin was all his. He smiled and waved as I turned to walk away.

The first thought in my head was, “Oh man. If I had waited five more minutes in looking for my keys, I would really be in a mess!”

As I made my way up the stairs, with sweat beading my forehead, I tapped my Fitbit bracelet to see how many steps I had gotten through that whole ordeal. Nothing. I groaned. What a time for the battery to die on me!

I put the Fitbit onto it’s charger and ran down to check on my laundry, which was all done by this time, and I carried a very heavy bag of warm clothes up to my apartment to fold them there. “I have to be at my 10,000 steps by now,” I thought.

I put the clothes aside to take care of later and decide to vacuum. I was just about done with the dining area (which is a ridiculous place to have carpet, by the way) when my vacuum sputters to a stop. I figured it must need to be emptied, and so I did that in hopes of getting it to work again. I put it all back together and pushed the power button. Nothing. I had just gotten this vacuum last Fall!

08f

Yeah… And now I’ve got to go get my kids.

Hopefully the rest of the day will be better… Happy Friday, y’all!

About coffeenut79

I am a mother to two CODAs, and if you know what I mean by that, than you would know I am deaf. I am an artist in many ways, and writing is one of the mediums I love working in. View all posts by coffeenut79

One response to “Topsy Turvy

Leave a Reply

